Learning Lines

Investigating New Territory Through The World of Writing

Draft 7 and 8

Draft 7 and 8 are complete of my novel for middle readers.  I don’t know what that means other than feeling much closer to sending in to a publisher.  I think it was good I stayed away from it a while.  It gave me the perspective I needed to make some changes more appealing to middle readers.  I flip-flopped chapter one and chapter two completely.  Then I renamed all the beginning chapters to give them more voice. Then I printed it out to look at it as one piece.  It felt like such an accomplishment to see the whole thing in print I could touch.

Even after talking about it some more with my husband tonight, I feel more motivated to start on my next project.  Certainly there are going to be months and months of waiting ahead with rejection letters galore.  I don’t think I even care.  Silly as it seems, I can’t wait to receive a rejection letter just to prove I did it and someone had to look at it, even for a few seconds.

My next project is going to be more geared to boys.  Since I know all things girl, I am going to need a lot of help from my friends at home who have boys.  There is such a need in the classroom for more quality text exciting for boys.  During the last two years I have had a wonderful variety of boy personalities.  I’m sure I can start from there.

Now, I just need an outline. . .

 

One comment on “Draft 7 and 8

  1. Yo Mama
    January 19, 2011

    A sense of completion, fulfillment. . What a wonderful place to start.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
