Learning Lines

Investigating New Territory Through The World of Writing

I Should Be Washing the Dishes: To Amy

I can hear my girls’ voices

Through the heating vent in my office

Even though they are two floors away

They  laugh about God knows what.

 

The freezing dark surrounds me outside

But, I am determined not to let it in.

Instead of letting the weariness overtake me,

The bitterness of the cold creep underneath my skin,

I will rise from within.

 

Words snow down

Inches and inches of thoughts

Layering onto the empty earth of the page.

I should be washing the dishes.

But, I think I will write instead.

One comment on “I Should Be Washing the Dishes: To Amy

  1. Mama Ritchie
    January 11, 2011

    B.I.C.H.O.K!!

    I am so proud of you. The dishes can wait. Inspiration cannot. I love you!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 11, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
