Learning Lines

Investigating New Territory Through The World of Writing

“Mom, do I still have time to read?”

The best advice I can give to any parent is to read to a child every day.  Looking back on the many habits I have tried to help my children develop, I can proudly announce I have been religious about reading to them every day.  Now, all the hours are paying off.

I had to but two copies of Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins today  This is the third book in the Hunger Games Trilogy.  Both of the older girls promised I could take it out of their week’s allowance.  My youngest just burst through the door yelling my name, asking if she still had time to read Ramona and Beezus on the Kindle.  It gives me such joy to see them in their beds devouring a book.  It’s even better when they debate stories and discuss characters.  Watching my own children have conversations with adults about books is also a moment I cherish.  I could give a rip about my children’s standardized test scores compared to these special literary moments.  Their eyes sparkle with wonder when they retell their favorite parts.

This is why I spend too much money on books.  I have made a huge attempt to be better about using the library this summer.  The problem is I have such great access to my summer library up north.  I am at the point that I feel guilty buying from the big bad chain store when my favorite bookstore in the world, McLean and Eakin even donates part of the profits of every book I buy to my favorite library.  Does it get better than that?  They also have a program to give you ten dollars toward your every one hundred dollars you spend.  I’m embarrassed to reveal how many of those coupons I have redeemed.

So, I got my fifteen minutes of writing in.  Its time to brew some tea and snuggle under the covers with some good books!

One comment on ““Mom, do I still have time to read?”

  1. Yo Mama
    August 25, 2010

    I am off to the library as we speak. It is an addiction. I am in need of another book. . It is emotional when you are finished and you need more.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2010 by in Uncategorized.
