Learning Lines

Investigating New Territory Through The World of Writing

Paying it Forward

A few years ago, I saw the movie “Pay it Forward”.   There was such an unbelievable power in the idea of promoting kindness to others.  I find it interesting that I fill my sticky notes with lists of things to do (things I want to do) to get my classroom ready for the year.  But, how many of those things are truly necessary.  How much of the time I spend creating things for my room are really for me.  Once I get a vision of how I want something to work or look or function in my room, I’m obsessed until it is done.  Maybe that’s a good teacher trait “She follows through”, but how much of the time I spend making up stuff could be used doing for others, like other teachers.  My classroom/students are always my first priority (as it should be.)  Yet, I feel more fulfilled by my job and prepared for my students when I am also doing for other adults.

Today my Mom brought me some plants for my classroom.  She just did it.  It touched me, the time she gave picking them out and getting them at the store, then transferring them to my room.  It really was a simple act of kindness.  What if we all put this on our list of things to do each day, picked a person to do a kindness to or for? What if we put it at the top of our lists and made it our first priority?  Tomorrow, on my list of things to do, I’m going to pay it forward.  Maybe they will do something in turn for someone else.  I can’t wait to find out what I am going to do.

2 comments on “Paying it Forward

  1. Mama Ritchie
    August 24, 2010

    Charlie and I made cookies and gave them to our neighbors with a nice note in a cute bag. I’ve gotten such positive responses. One neighbor said that it was the first time anyone had ever done that. It felt great.

  2. learninglines
    August 25, 2010

    I love the baking idea!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 24, 2010 by in Uncategorized.
