Learning Lines

Investigating New Territory Through The World of Writing

Day 1: 15 minutes of Writing a Day

It’s 4:08 p.m. Day One.  The challenge from Laurie Halse Anderson: Writing for 15 minutes a day.  So, I guess I’ll just start writing about writing.  All summer I have been working on a class.  Up until now, this has been my reason to write, for my class.  But, now the class is over and the dreaded month that begins with an “A” looms in front of me.  It threatens me every year.  I tell others, not in the teaching field, “Its like a month of Sunday nights.”  Why can’t I change that though.  What about this?  The challenge to make August the best month of the year instead of the worst.  What would I have to do to make this happen?  I would have to fill my days with my favorite things.  Reading, writing, music, doing things.  So, what is stopping me?  Here’s a question.  Do I have to be in the same place to make this happen.  Is it possible to engage in a project successfully during the transition between summer and going back to school?  Its so counterintuitive to think that taking on something like writing while I am packing to come home from the cottage, helping my kids get ready to go back to school and getting my classroom ready for a new school year would be a good thing.  Who knows?

I really want to write some stories about my trip to New York earlier this summer.  I started with the Italian Waiter.  I guess this would be the perfect opportunity to just jump in and do it.

I want to thank Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Chains, Speak, Fever and Wintergirls for writing about this idea in her blog.  I hope to connect with other writers and friends who like writing.  Please feel free to comment.

One comment on “Day 1: 15 minutes of Writing a Day

  1. Chris
    August 2, 2010

    You motivated me. I’m doing it. This is such a great idea!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2010 by in August Writing.
